Finding Bones

A couple of months ago I was at Wallasea Island. (map)  We stumbled on the bones of an animal.

The front legs were missing (presuming it wasn’t the alien that it appeared to be at first glance) and all around it were beer cans. At first I thought it was a hoax, but when I had a closer look it was clearly real.

My guess is that it was a deer, although Wallasea Island doesn’t have deer roaming around on it but one was seen a few miles round the coast at Southend on Sea a few months beforehand (see first photo).

Maybe it got trapped in the ditch?

Finding Bones - Deer on Beach

Stranger things have happened…

http://www.echo-news.co.uk/news/10134472.Family_make_grim_discovery_on_Canvey_beach/

The following photos should be clickable. I took a close up of the lower jaw in case the teeth can help identify it.

If anyone can say what type of animal this was I’d love to know. Thanks

skeleton - side skeleton whole skeleton - close skeleton - jaw

Posted on February 9, 2013, in Animals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment